Crystal Coast Vows on the Beach-Wedding Sweepstakes!

The Crystal Coast Tourism Board teamed up with Belk and Bluewater Vacation Rentals to put together a FANTASTIC sweepstakes! Couples were asked, in 50 words or less, to tell us why they deserved to win a Dream Wedding, all expenses paid! They would receive accommodations in an Oceanfront home for a week on the Crystal Coast of NC, a full wedding planning package along with a $2000 gift card to Belk. They would also receive $12,000 to spend as they saw fit for their BIG DAY!  The response was overwhelming. We had over 1500 entries!! We read every single one of them and it was very hard to choose just one winner…but we did!

 Fallin and Cory are great! Here is a little about them!

Fallin is currently enrolled at The University of Georgia while Cory is deployed, returning home in late July. We contacted Fallin first, giving her the news of the dream wedding they had won. Fallin extend the celebratory news to Cory from thousands of miles away, via Skype. It was so touching to hear their enthusiasm and gratitude upon being awarded the wedding of their dreams, right here on the Crystal Coast! I asked for them to send me a little about “their story”… she insisted that he write it, saying “he tells it way better than I do!” Here is their story, in his words:

“Our story is amazing and kind of awkward in the beginning. I was going through a divorce and Fallin was recently out of a semi-serious relationship. A mutual friend of ours was having a Christmas party, which is where we first met. It almost didn’t happen. I was there with my sister who had a little too much to drink, so I had taken her home and came back to say my goodbyes. As I was walking out the door Fallin walked in with a few of her friends. When I looked over at her It was the sensation that seems like its only felt in the movies. I actually caught my breath. I asked my buddy who she was and normally am not the kind of guy that approaches women but I had to meet her if only to say high and introduce myself. So I did just that, she started walking in as I was walking out, I stopped her in the kitchen told her that my name was Cory and that I was leaving but I had to meet her and get her name. We shook hands and that was it, she stayed for the party and I left. For the next three weeks my friends and I practically spent every spare minute at the restaurant where Fallin worked. It was obvious she didn’t remember me so I figured my first impression wasn’t a lasting one and reverted back to the guy that doesn’t approach women. After three weeks of Fallin not saying a word to me I figured me stalking her was probably futile. In my mind if she wasn’t interested by now, me spending countless dollars on beer and not so great food wasn’t going to change her mind. So my friends and I stopped going to the bar, however, a few days later a buddy and me were going to the airport to pick up a friend and stopped for a quick bite and drink. As we were sitting there Fallin, out of nowhere comes up, sticks her hand out and says “Hi, I’m Fallin, you’re Shawn’s friend right”. I almost choked on my food. I stuttered a yes and shook her hand. She said she had saw me in there a lot and wanted to meet me. Then she went back to work without another word. My friend and I stared each other in awe. After so long of pathetically trying to meet her, she says hi on a day we stopped by for a quick sandwich. I told her it was nice meeting her and headed out the door. Later that week my friends and I invited her and her friends over for some drinks. They came over and that night started a month of awkward moments and dates. I’ve never saw two people so uncomfortable with each other; it was like neither had ever dated before. This was the first time I had dated in about a decade so to say I was nervous was a gross understatement. So after a few troubled dates and seeing the inevitable end of our short relationship, one day I dropped Fallin off at her car after a movie. As I was walking back to my truck I knew it was now or never. I stopped, turned around, and walked straight back to her. She was about to get in her car when I said her name, when she turned around I kissed her. At that moment I think we both realized that we were both exactly where we were supposed to be. It was like instant love, knowing that you found “The One” without knowing yet how perfectly you fit together. I’m about 9 years older than Fallin but I truly believe that she was made for me. She is an amazing woman. She has taken my two boys into her life as if they’re her own and loves and cares for them as such. As well, they love her…to the point that when I took her home to meet my family, while at the movies watching Magic Mike with the women of my family, Tristan, my oldest son picked out her engagement and wedding rings. He has very expensive taste but I honestly believe no other ring would look as good as that one does on her hand. She challenges me emotionally and intellectually and because of her I am the best version of me. We have our struggles; her being away at school and me still in the military and having to deploy but our love for each other hasn’t wavered the slightest bit. We are strong for each other and we are blessed. To answer your questions, Fallin is from Nashville, GA, and I am from Boonsboro, MD. She is currently attending University of Ga and I am in the Air Force and have been for 16 years. We’ve been together for a little over two years now. We have two boys, from my first marriage, Tristan and Canyon.”

Fallin and Cory recently made a trip down to meet with me, Zena, along with some of their vendors for their wedding. They are so sweet! They were also able to meet with their photographer, Casey Futrell, for a quick engagement session! Here are a few photos from that session! We are so excited and looking forward to their small, romantic ceremony on Monday October 28th!

Image

Downtown Swansboro NC is a wonderful coastal location for photos!

Image

They are SO in LOVE!!

Image

Cory has two sons, they were so cute and are very, very excited about the upcoming wedding!

Stay tuned for further updates from this very special couple!

2 thoughts on “Crystal Coast Vows on the Beach-Wedding Sweepstakes!

  1. I love Cory and Fallin! Cory is my cousin but we are more like brother and sister. Cory is such a great guy and father, Fallin is such a sweet girl and is such a match for Cory. The two of them are so cute together. Canyon and Tristin fit just perfectly in to this cute family. I’m looking foward to their BIG DAY! I love you Cory, Fallin and the boys 🙂

  2. Fallon & I were co-workers for a while. I’m so happy to see that she is now engaged to a man that she loves! Congrats to you my dear, you’ll make a great wife & mom :0)

Leave a Reply

